Buffy the Vampire Slayer, 20 years later..

            untitled                                                                             #Buffyslays20

On March 10,1997 the ever so popular hit show Buffy the Vampire Slayer took it’s stab at network television (I tried to be pun-ny…haha did it again.) Now, if you don’t know where this show originates from, It is based off of the cult classic back in 1992 movie starring Kristy Swanson and Luke Perry, one girl in all the world chosen to be the fighter of all things evil and supernatural.. Fast forward a couple years later, we have the tv series created by Joss Whedon.

“20 years ago today, I had the greatest privilege to bring Buffy to your TV screens for the first time,”  says Sarah Michelle Gellar in an instagram post paying tribute to the show, ” That first season, we liked to think of ourselves as the little show that could.” 

In my opinion, Sarah couldn’t have been more right. You would never think to believe a show with supernatural spookie’s and a vampire slayer would make such an impact in the pop culture world, at least in the 90’s. I started watching the show in 2000, I was 7 years old, going on 8. Half of the stuff I was watching I had no idea what it even was being so young (kissing, sex, h’whaaaaat?!?!) but I DID know that the characters, the story line, the ghosts and ghouls, I LOVED. There was something so cool and badass about a young girl not only trying to figure out life with her friends but having this weight on her shoulders knowing she can’t even turn her back on it even if she wanted to. She showed strength, courage and passion in everything she did. Yes, I know vampires are not real and demons could never be a thing nor explained in the real world, but guess what, Joss Whedon made me FEEL like it COULD be real, he created stories based around real life experiences. These demons and vampires were the tale of the bullies and the ignorant people who live in this world as we know it, and Buffy and her friends were always there to find a way and save the day or the world from ending. Bye-Bye bad guy!

 

hhh.png

 

Some people would say I am obsessed with the show, my answer is always, yes, yes I am. I’ve been able to relate myself to a character in order to help me cope with my own person life and have an outlet for when I am having a bad day I can just go home, throw on some buffy and forget about the world.

a87fba2e6468e86dd4ac3cd1220648cf.jpg

I genuinely appreciate the thought and time it took to create such an amazing show. From the writers to the stunt coordinators, they make sure that every single move and line in perfect so that there are no slip-ups. Especially their one liners, did you know Buffy was the first ever show to use the phrase “google”? lol, yeah, it happened.

lead_large.png

You know what’s even cooler? That 20 years later, not only me, but millions of people around the world still watch this show. 20 years later, people can still watch Buffy, know word for an episode and not get sick and tired of it. Don’t get me wrong, this is a completely biased post, so if you don’t like Buffy, you probably have never even tried watching it 😉 lol. It just goes to show you that after all this time, this show covered so many feels that it was never annoyingly repetitive like how some shows can get. You know that “yeah yeah we get it zombies kill people” thought? yeah, doesn’t happen here.

I sometimes wish I could speak to other Buffy fans and hear their stories, so if you are one of those people, please, comment away! I read through instagram posts regarding this day and it’s as if I can feel the passion one has for this show just like I do. It’s honestly something so indescribable, if you have ever been passionate about something, anything than you know what I mean. Unfortunately, there will never be a Buffy reunion, nor a spin off series (bummer), but us fans understand why. 20 years later? come on, there is no competing with what was, and what still is. If it ain’t broke don’t fix it.

So with that said, THANK YOU, Joss Whedon, David Greenwalt, all of the other writers and producers, Sarah Michelle Gellar, Anthony Stewart Head, David Boreanaz, James Marsters, Juliet Landau, Seth Green, Alyson Hannigan, Tom Lenk, Michelle Trachtengerg, Eliza Dushku, Charsima Carpenter, Nicholas Brendon, Emma Caulfield, to all the vampires, witches & demons who made this show possible.. you gave us all something to believe in, a role model, proof a woman can hold her own and kick ass no matter what. Life gets hard, but there is nothing we can’t face without courage and a great group of friends behind us.

….But come on, at least a reuinion super con panel for old times sake?

 

Buffy7

 

xx, Mich

Leave a Reply

